How to Disable the Folders Trash Bin when Using Site Studio
Last updated on FEBRUARY 08, 2018
Applies to:Oracle WebCenter Content - Version: 7.2
Information in this document applies to any platform.
Product and Version: Site Studio, 6.5SP3, 7.2SP1, 7.2.1, 10gR3, 10.1.3.3.0, 10.1.3.3.1, 10.1.3.3.2 with Content Server Folders
You have deleted documents from the folders used to contribute to your Site Studio web site, and yet the documents still appear in Dynamic Lists, Table of Contents and queries. Why does is there old content on the web site?
By default, when the Folders component is installed, it enables an optional Trash Bin feature that sends deleted items to a Trash folder, rather than permanently deleting the items. Documents which are deleted from WebDAV folders will still show up in Site Studio dynamic lists and queries, if they are still in the Trash folder.
To avoid this problem, some users explicitly delete the documents from the Trash folder each time documents are deleted from the folders. When the documents are deleted from the Trash folder, they will not show up in the dynamic lists and queries. This approach has the advantage that you can control what is removed and users can recover files and folders that have been mistakenly deleted.
A more permanent solution is to change the Folders configuration to disable the Trash Bin. Disabling the Trash Bin has the advantage that deleted files will always be immediately removed and therefore will not show up in queries. When using this solution, you should also be aware that when the Trash Bin is disabled, users will not be able to recover files and folders that have been mistakenly deleted.
Sign In with your My Oracle Support account
Don't have a My Oracle Support account? Click to get started
My Oracle Support provides customers with access to over a
Million Knowledge Articles and hundreds of Community platforms