My Oracle Support Banner

TimeZone Settings For BRM To Recognize Correct DST Rule (Doc ID 1986071.1)

Last updated on MAY 07, 2018

Applies to:

Oracle Communications Billing and Revenue Management - Version 7.4.0.0.0 to 7.5.0.0.0 [Release 7.4.0 to 7.5.0]
Information in this document applies to any platform.

Purpose

 Scenario:

TZ variable of the operating system has been set to  America/Mexico_City , in order to handle a  scenario where actual physical server of BRM instance is located in US Central timezone( e.g.: Austin,Texas) but service provider is in Mexico City and service provider expect BRM to recognize DST( Daylight Savings Time) rule of Mexico City even if physical servers are located in US central timezone.

With above TZ settings in place, BRM services  doesn't recognize the Mexico_City's DST rule , instead it recognize US Central timezone's DST rule.

Test scenario:

> /usr/sbin/zdump -v /usr/share/zoneinfo/America/Mexico_City | grep 2015
/usr/share/zoneinfo/America/Mexico_City  Sun Apr  5 07:59:59 2015 UTC = Sun Apr  5 01:59:59 2015 CST isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600
/usr/share/zoneinfo/America/Mexico_City  Sun Apr  5 08:00:00 2015 UTC = Sun Apr  5 03:00:00 2015 CDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
/usr/share/zoneinfo/America/Mexico_City  Sun Oct 25 06:59:59 2015 UTC = Sun Oct 25 01:59:59 2015 CDT isdst=1 gmtoff=-18000
/usr/share/zoneinfo/America/Mexico_City  Sun Oct 25 07:00:00 2015 UTC = Sun Oct 25 01:00:00 2015 CST isdst=0 gmtoff=-21600



>cat /etc/sysconfig/clock
ZONE=America/Mexico_City
UTC=true
ARC=false


For a particular account, purchase  some onetime products after the server timezone (TZ variable) changed to America/Mexico_City.


As the DST rule for Mexico in year 2015  Apr 5 2015 +600, Oct 25 2015 +500,  purchase 3 onetime products in different dates as follows:

1.    Oct 20, purchase first product
2.    Oct 29, purchase second product
3.    Nov 4, purchase third product (since US DST change at Nov 1 2015)

The results are :

1.    For the Oct 20 purchased product, the event start_t is 1445317226 which means Tue, 20 Oct 2015 05:00:26 GMT (+5:00) as expected
2.    For the Oct 29 purchased product, the event start_t is 1446094836 which means Thu, 29 Oct 2015 05:00:36 GMT (+5:00)  not expected
3.    For the Nov 4 purchased product, the event start_t is 1446530430which means Thu Tue, 03 Nov 2015 06:00:30 GMT (+6:00) as expected



 

Questions and Answers

To view full details, sign in with your My Oracle Support account.

Don't have a My Oracle Support account? Click to get started!


In this Document
Purpose
Questions and Answers

My Oracle Support provides customers with access to over a million knowledge articles and a vibrant support community of peers and Oracle experts.