Enhancement Request - Improve Messaging On Conflicting Content Edits (Doc ID 2112575.1)

Last updated on MAY 12, 2017

Applies to:

Oracle Commerce Guided Search / Oracle Commerce Experience Manager - Version 11.1 and later
Information in this document applies to any platform.

Goal

On : 11.1 version, Business User Issues (Experience Manager or Workbench)

When two business users edit the same content item in Experience/Rule Manager, the second person to click "save" receives a modal:

The content item you attempted to save has been modified by another user.
With choices: 'Cancel', 'Save and overwrite', and 'Save a copy'

If the name of the content item is changed, a similar pop-up appears, with different messaging:

'Experience Manager is out of sync with the repository. Click "OK" to sync with the repository and try again.'

In release 2.1.2, when two users accessed the same rule, the second person was informed that the rule was locked by .

In release 11.2, users are able to create "projects" that can be edited independently, then when the projects are published to the main line they report conflicts.

We would like this message to give more information, or indicate the other business user login name, if possible.

This would allow business users and administrators to determine on a case-by-case basis how to proceed, and this will help avoid duplication of work.

Solution

Sign In with your My Oracle Support account

Don't have a My Oracle Support account? Click to get started

My Oracle Support provides customers with access to over a
Million Knowledge Articles and hundreds of Community platforms