My Oracle Support Banner

A User is Able to Delete Project Via P6 Web Even If Someone Else Has Same Project Open in P6 Pro/Web (Doc ID 2785709.1)

Last updated on JUNE 30, 2021

Applies to:

Primavera P6 Enterprise Project Portfolio Management Cloud Service - Version 20.12.4.0 and later
Information in this document applies to any platform.

Symptoms

ACTUAL BEHAVIOR:

Seems possible to delete Project via P6 Pro/Web even if someone else has same Project open.

We have a major issue whereby in P6 Web, if a user has the Delete Projects privilege, then they are able to delete a Project even if someone else has the Project open (Shared mode) in P6 Web or P6 Pro.

In Pro, if someone has a Project open and another user in Pro tries to delete it, they get the following message: "Other users currently have the project open. You may not delete the project." You do not get this message when deleting via the Web.

EXPECTED BEHAVIOR:

The expected behavior would be that when trying to delete the Project from P6 Web, a message should pop-up in order to not allow the deletion.

STEPS:

The issue can be reproduced at will with the following steps:
Pro/Pro - Works
1) Log into any P6 environment using P6 Pro with a user account that has Delete Projects privilege (e.g. User A).
2) Log into the same P6 environment on another machine using P6 Pro with a user account that has Delete Projects privilege and access the same Projects as the user above (e.g. User B).
3) Have User A open a Project in Pro.
4) Have User B attempt to delete the Project in Pro that User A has open.
5) User B receives the message "Other users currently have the project open. You may not delete the project".

Pro/Web
6) Log into any P6 environment using P6 Pro with a user account that has Delete Projects privilege (e.g. User A).
7) Log into the same P6 environment using P6 Web with a user account that has Delete Projects privilege and access the same Projects as the user above (e.g User C).
8) Have User A open a Project in Pro.
9) Have User C attempt to delete the Project in Pro that User A has open.
10) The Project disappears from the View, click the Save icon.
11) Refresh Pro and the Project is gone.
12) If you perform this the other way round, open the Project in Web and the perform the delete in Pro on the same Project, the Project is deleted.

Web/Web
12) Log into any P6 environment using P6 Web with a user account that has Delete Projects privilege (e.g. User D).
13) Log into the same P6 environment using P6 Web with a user account that has Delete Projects privilege and access the same Projects as the user above (e.g User E).
14) Have User D open a Project in Web.
15) Have User E attempt to delete the Project in Web that User D has open.
16) The Project disappears from the View, click the Save icon.
17) Refresh Web and the Project is gone.

This means:
- If a Project is open in Read-Only or Shared mode in Pro it can be deleted by another user in Web who has the Delete Projects privilege.
- If a Project is open in Read-Only or Shared mode in Web it can be deleted by another user in Pro who has the Delete Projects privilege.
- If a Project is open in Read-Only or Shared mode in Web it can be deleted by another user in Web who has the Delete Projects privilege.

Cause

To view full details, sign in with your My Oracle Support account.

Don't have a My Oracle Support account? Click to get started!


In this Document
Symptoms
Cause
Solution
References


My Oracle Support provides customers with access to over a million knowledge articles and a vibrant support community of peers and Oracle experts.