My Oracle Support Banner

QREF: Linux Kernel Version Nomenclature (Doc ID 311504.1)

Last updated on APRIL 20, 2020

Applies to:

Oracle Cloud Infrastructure - Version N/A and later
Linux OS - Version 2.4.9 to Oracle Linux 7.4 with Unbreakable Enterprise Kernel [4.1.12]
Linux Itanium
Linux x86-64
Linux x86


This document aims to define the kernel naming conventions on Linux distributions.


This document applies to system and database administrators working on Linux environments RedHat AS 2.1, OL 3, 4, 5, 6, 7, Novell/SuSE SLES 8, 9 and Asianux 1.0.

The nomenclature is provided in BNF (Backus Naur Form) notation.

Note: Not all the kernel types are covered in this document. Only the major ones.


To view full details, sign in with your My Oracle Support account.

Don't have a My Oracle Support account? Click to get started!

In this Document
 Red Hat Advanced Server (RHAS) 2.1
 Red Hat Enterprise Linux (RHEL) 3
 Red Hat Enterprise Linux 4
 Oracle Linux 4
 Red Hat Enterprise Linux 5
 Oracle Linux 5
 Oracle Linux 6
 Oracle Linux 7
 Novell / SUSE Linux Enterprise Sever (SLES) 8
 Novell / SUSE Linux Enterprise Sever (SLES) 9
 Novell / SUSE Linux Enterprise Sever (SLES) 10
 Asianux 1.0
 Asianux 2.0

My Oracle Support provides customers with access to over a million knowledge articles and a vibrant support community of peers and Oracle experts.