My Oracle Support Banner

Solaris[TM] Operating System: The different types of Shared Memory available in Solaris (Doc ID 1010818.1)

Last updated on NOVEMBER 18, 2022

Applies to:

Oracle Database - Enterprise Edition - Version to [Release 11.2]
Solaris Operating System - Version 8 and later
Oracle Database Cloud Schema Service - Version N/A and later
Gen 1 Exadata Cloud at Customer (Oracle Exadata Database Cloud Machine) - Version N/A and later
Oracle Cloud Infrastructure - Database Service - Version N/A and later
All Platforms


This document describes the different types of Shared Memory that Solaris[TM] offers and their characteristics - Shared Memory (SHM), Intimate Shared Memory (ISM),  Dynamic Intimate Shared Memory (DISM) and Optimized Shared Memory (OSM).


To view full details, sign in with your My Oracle Support account.

Don't have a My Oracle Support account? Click to get started!

My Oracle Support provides customers with access to over a million knowledge articles and a vibrant support community of peers and Oracle experts.