My Oracle Support Banner

How to Migrate a Critical Host with Node 2, Node 3, or Node 4 Role on BDA 5.2 to a Non-Default Host (Doc ID 2966635.1)

Last updated on OCTOBER 06, 2023

Applies to:

Big Data Appliance Integrated Software - Version 5.2.0 and later
Linux x86-64


NOTE: In the examples that follow, user details, cluster names, hostnames, directory paths, filenames, etc. represent a fictitious sample (and are used to provide an illustrative example only). Any similarity to actual persons, or entities, living or dead, is purely coincidental and not intended in any manner. 

When performing a server resiliency action to migrate one of the critical BDA 5.2 hosts with Node 2, Node 3, Node 4 role it is possible to select the non-critical cluster host the critical roles will migrate to. See, How to Identify the Critical Hosts in a BDA Cluster (Doc ID 2624086.1), for steps on how to identify critical cluster hosts.

Server resilency actions to migrate a host are performed with "bdacli admin_cluster migrate <CRITICAL_HOST>". For details see, Node Migration on Oracle Big Data Appliance V4.0 OL6 Hadoop Cluster to Manage a Hardware Failure (Doc ID 1946210.1).

By default, if the host with Mammoth role needs to be migrated, the steps require selecting the non-critical cluster host to migrate the Mammoth role to.  Migrating the other critical hosts i.e. the hosts with Node 2, Node 3, Node 4 roles has a different default behavior.  For these hosts, the roles are migrated to the first non-critical node in the cluster. The first non-critical node in the cluster is Node 5 by default. If necessary, it is possible to migrate a host with Node 2, Node 3, Node 4 role to a different i.e. non-default, non-critical host. The steps for this follow.


To view full details, sign in with your My Oracle Support account.

Don't have a My Oracle Support account? Click to get started!

In this Document

My Oracle Support provides customers with access to over a million knowledge articles and a vibrant support community of peers and Oracle experts.