State Tax Levy Rules for California Referring to State Minimum Wage and not Federal Minimum Wage
Last updated on DECEMBER 06, 2016
Applies to:Oracle HRMS (US) - Version 12.1.3 and later
Information in this document applies to any platform.
On : 12.1.3 version, Wage Attachments/Garnishments
State tax Levy element for CA is referring to State Minimum Wages and not Federal Minimum Wages
For California, the formula is referring to the State Minimum Wage for employees disposable income, and not to the Federal Minimum Wage.
In the wage exception screen, the setup is done for Greater of (75% of Gross wage or 40 times of federal Min Wage), but it is referring only to the State Minimum Wages for processing.
Expect that the Federal Minimum Wage is used as stated in the California legislative Statutes
As per California Law, following logic should be used for calculating State levy :
How to process an EWOT payment -- including payment instructions
Step 1 - Determine your employee's disposable earnings.
•Calculate your employee's gross earnings, which include bonuses and commissions.
•Then subtract the lawful deductions below from gross earnings: ◦Federal income tax.
◦State income tax.
Step 2 - Once you determine the amount of disposable earnings, find the withholding amount on the chart below. Or use our withholding calculator to determine the withholding amount.
If your pay periods are
And your employee's
disposable earnings are
Withhold and send this amount
Use the instructions on PAGE 1A in box 5.
$0 - $217.50
$217.51 - $290.00
Amount above $217.50
$290.01 or more
25% of the disposable earnings
The issue has the following business impact:
Due to this issue, users cannot accurately calculate the State Tax Levy for California
Sign In with your My Oracle Support account
Don't have a My Oracle Support account? Click to get started
My Oracle Support provides customers with access to over a
Million Knowledge Articles and hundreds of Community platforms