My Oracle Support Banner

What are category set product levels? (Doc ID 812967.1)

Last updated on DECEMBER 03, 2019

Applies to:

Oracle E-Business Tax - Version 12.0.6 and later
Information in this document applies to any platform.


Customer is reviewing data for GB that has come as part of the seed data patch. GB VAT product
level 1 and GB VAT product level 2 category sets. We queried them back in Tax
Manager>Products>Product Classifications and they appear to be the same other than when you
query GB VAT product level 1 back, you will see this first and GB VAT product level 2 second and
vice versa when you query GB VAT product level 2 back. We then reviewed the seeded status rules
and all seem to point to GB VAT product level 2. I cannot find any documentation that explains the
difference or purpose of these or of levels in general for Product Classifications. It just states
that you can optionally use levels. What the customer wants to do is potentially use the same
logic when setting up Product Classifications and rules for Canadian goods and services, but we
are not clear on how this was designed to work in order to replicate it for Canada. Can you please
provide some insight?


To view full details, sign in with your My Oracle Support account.

Don't have a My Oracle Support account? Click to get started!

In this Document

My Oracle Support provides customers with access to over a million knowledge articles and a vibrant support community of peers and Oracle experts.