My Oracle Support Banner

Solaris OS: Where Is the Default Timezone Set and How Can It Be Changed? (Doc ID 1011541.1)

Last updated on AUGUST 13, 2021

Applies to:

Solaris Operating System - Version 8 and later
All Platforms


In Solaris Operating System (OS), where is the default timezone set, and how can it be changed?


To view full details, sign in with your My Oracle Support account.

Don't have a My Oracle Support account? Click to get started!

In this Document
 Solaris[TM] 11 OS and above
 Solaris[TM] 10 OS and below
 A list of valid timezone/localtime values can be found in the /usr/share/lib/zoneinfo directory
 Examples to set/change the timezone (TZ) only for one particular command
 Set timezone (TZ) variable per User
 Set timezone (TZ) variable per non-global-zone (NGZ)
 Additional info to set/adjust the (hardware) clock on Solaris system

My Oracle Support provides customers with access to over a million knowledge articles and a vibrant support community of peers and Oracle experts.