My Oracle Support Banner

SPARC M8-8 and SPARC M7-8 Servers : How to differentiate a server with one Pdomain versus a server with two Pdomains (Doc ID 2060018.1)

Last updated on JUNE 03, 2019

Applies to:

SPARC M7-8 - Version All Versions and later
SPARC M8-8 - Version All Versions and later
Information in this document applies to any platform.


The SPARC M8-8 and M7-8 servers can be ordered with one or two PDomains.  The servers are often called static because the model ordered defines the number of domains.

A server with one PDomain includes all of the processors, memory, and PCIe expansion in the chassis. In this configuration, the server can use up to eight processors within its single static PDomain.

In a server with two PDomains, each PDomain includes half of the possible processors, memory, and PCIe expansion slots in the chassis. In this two PDomain configuration, each static PDomain operates as a separate server within the same chassis.  The two Domain Configuration Units (DCUs) within the dual-HOST server model cannot be joined.  DCU0 is always PDom0 and DCU1 is always PDom1.  The chassis is always two physically distinct servers.

The goal of this document is to demonstrate how to identify the two configurations of SPARC M8-8 and M7-8 servers.

Note : M8 Supercluster uses the SPARC M8-8 with two PDomains and the M7 Supercluster uses the SPARC M7-8 with two PDomains.



To view full details, sign in with your My Oracle Support account.

Don't have a My Oracle Support account? Click to get started!

In this Document
 Hardware check
 From ILOM
 The number of DCUs
 The number of Hosts/Pdomains
 The number of SPMs
 The type of trusses installed
 The type of chassis
 From snapshot

My Oracle Support provides customers with access to over a million knowledge articles and a vibrant support community of peers and Oracle experts.