In ODI 12C, Restore with Merge when Selecting "Restore a version as the repository object" Forgets Version to be Restored and Results in Logical Loop

(Doc ID 2378134.1)

Last updated on APRIL 04, 2018

Applies to:

Oracle Data Integrator - Version 12.1.2.0.0 and later
Information in this document applies to any platform.

Symptoms

Oracle Data Integrator (ODI) 12c is integrated with Version Control System (VCS) such as Apache Subversion (SVN) or Git.

There are several Mappings in the ODI Repository which have been versioned.

When restoring a versioned artifact and selecting "restore with merge", the original version of the object that was selected to be restored is not remembered in the dialogs that follow after selecting to "merge" and when a conflict is found. ODI should remember the object that was selected to be restored.

When the user selects a new version, the same dialog boxes are coming up over and over again, resulting in a logical loop.

The issue can be reproduced at will with the following steps:

  1. Login to ODI Studio connected to a VCS
         
  2. Create a new Mapping, ie "test_orig"
             
  3. Add to VCS (in case the current version is not added):
    Right-click on Mapping, "Version" > "Add to VCS..."
           
  4. Edit the Mapping and modify, ie "test_mod"

  5. Create a new version:
    Right-click on Mapping, "Version" > "Create VCS Version..."

  6. Right-click on Mapping, "Version" > "Restore from VCS..."
    Select the original version that has another name "test_orig"
    Check "Restore with Merge"



    Dialog: "Version Compare Result" showing the different names
  7. Select icon "Perform Merge"
  8. In the "Merge Results" window, select the icon "Restore a version as the repository object"

  9. Select "Yes" in the confirmation window

    Notice that the upcoming dialog asks for the Version to be restored again.
    It does not remember the original version selected.
  10. Select the original version again, same as step 6 and check "Restore with Merge"

    Notice that the same dialogs "Version Compare Result" come up again showing the different names. Unless the "Restore with Merge" is not checked, the same dialog boxes pop up over and over resulting in a logical loop.

     

Changes

 

Cause

Sign In with your My Oracle Support account

Don't have a My Oracle Support account? Click to get started

My Oracle Support provides customers with access to over a
Million Knowledge Articles and hundreds of Community platforms