My Oracle Support Banner

fsck and what it does in different phases (Doc ID 1018583.1)

Last updated on DECEMBER 18, 2023

Applies to:

Solaris Operating System - Version 8.0 and later
All Platforms


This document describes all about the fsck command, when it needs to be run, how to run it, what are the detail processes that run in different phases, and what to do after running fsck.


To view full details, sign in with your My Oracle Support account.

Don't have a My Oracle Support account? Click to get started!

In this Document
 The fsck utility and what are its functions
 2. When should be the fsck needs to be run ?
 3. How to run fsck ?
 4. The UFS components that are checked for consistency
 5. Checking UFS file systems
 6. Superblock checks
 7. The 5-phases of fsck:
 Phase 1: Checks Blocks and Sizes
 Phase 2: Check path names
 Phase 3: Check Connectivity
 Phase 4: Check Reference Counts
 Phase 5: Check Cylinder Groups
 8. What should be done after fsck finished
 9. Dealing with what is in lost+found
 10. The fsck summary message
 11. Points to remember while trying to run fsck.

My Oracle Support provides customers with access to over a million knowledge articles and a vibrant support community of peers and Oracle experts.